Rebecca

Image: Marcy. “Rebecca Book | (Don’t Be) Too Timid and Squeamish.” Dont Be Too Timid and Squeamish. N.p., 29th Sept. 2011. Web. 19 Sept. 2013.

Rebecca

Author:Daphne Du Maurier
Genre: Horror, Mystery, Romance
Rating: ★★★★★

In my summer holidays, I read a Horror/Mystery novel called Rebecca. There was romance in it as well as many unexpected twists which were very enjoyable.

“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderly again” is this book’s famous opening line. The moment I saw the cover of this book, it looked scary and interesting as it was a dark cover and my eyes got struck to the book very quickly. The first bit was pretty boring to be honest, but after you read the first chapter, it becomes so intriguing and you just can’t stop reading. You would think that Rebecca is the main character as it is the name of the title, but actually it isn’t although Rebecca is an important part of the book.

I really liked the author’s technique of not mentioning the main Character’s name so that the reader could think and wonder about why it isn’t mentioned e.t.c. This book has many twists and I was surprised that the whole story changed at the end because of an unpredictable twist. *spoiler alert!* I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I recommend it you so you can live through the experience I lived in this breathtaking story!

1 Comment

Filed under Horror, Mystery, Romance

One response to “Rebecca

  1. Pingback: 30 day book challenge – day 17 – Author I wish people would read more. | Blank pages and books

Leave a Reply

